History of Rugby League (NRL) in Australia

Avoid looking for parking,
The hussle and bussle of trains,
The inconvenience of waiting for a maxi taxi.
Your PROBLEM IS SOLVED with Shire Shuttle Bus
Prebook with us and travel in comfort and safety with your friends to the NRL /AFL  games. 
Door to door service.


History of Rugby League:

Professional rugby league was established in Australia in 1908, following a split from the rugby union competition.  The competition was based in Sydney New South Wales for much of its existence (as the NSWRL), before expanding to other regions of Australia. Presently, sixteen teams compete in the National Rugby League, and provide quality entertainment for fans every season!

Known as: New South Wales Rugby League (1908-1994),  Australian Rugby League (1995-1997) (Super League 1997), NRL (1998-present)

The competition was split in 1997, with half of the-then teams rebelling and playing for the News Limited operated Super League competition.

Who are the most successful teams in the game’s history?

The top 4 the competition’s best ever!

  1. South Sydney Rabbitohs (1908-1999,2002-present) Premierships: 21

(1908, 1909, 1914, 1918, 1925-29, 1931-32, 1950, 1951, 1953, 1954-55, 1967-68, 1970-71, 2014)

  1. St George Dragons (1921-1998) Premierships: 15

(1941, 1949, 1956-66, 1977, 1979)

Formed a joint venture at the end of 1998 with Illawarra, the St George Illawarra Dragons.

The joint venture club played its first season in 1999 and won the 2010 premiership.

  1. Sydney Roosters (1908-present) Premierships: 13

(1911-13,1923, 1935, 1936-37 ,1940, 1945, 1974,1975, 2002, 2013 )

  1. Balmain Tigers (1908-1999) Premierships: 11

(1915-17, 1919, 1920, 1924, 1939, 1944, 1946, 1947, 1969

Formed a joint venture with Western Suburbs at the end of 1999. The joint venture played its first season in 2000 and won the 2005 premiership.

Previous Post
Next Post
Football (soccer) in Australia- a brief history

Related Posts

No results found.

2 Comments. Leave new

  • On 10 February 2012, the independent commission, known as the Australian Rugby League Commission assumed control of all levels of the game, replacing former state based boards and assuming full control of the NRL from the NRL partnership comprising the previous ARL board and News Limited.

  • 2006 The NRL holds the first ever Rugby League Grand Final in the competitions 98 year history involving no New South Wales teams. 2007 The Telstra Premiership grows to 16 clubs with the Gold Coast Titans joining.


Leave a Reply to Antoniodix Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.